Good things are happening with the Florida minimum wage this year. Did you know that the Florida minimum wage in 2021 has increased?
Employees should always have the latest information on minimum wage in Florida to ensure they are getting paid what they are legally owed under state wage laws.
The Changes in Florida Minimum Wage 2021
Beginning January 1, 2021, the Florida minimum wage rose from $8.56 per hour to $8.65 per hour, mandated by Florida Statute § 448.110. If you are a tipped employee, the direct minimum wage increase rose from $5.54 per hour to $5.63 per hour, in addition to tips.
Your employer is legally mandated to pay you the new Florida minimum wage 2021 by Section 24, Article X of the State Constitution, and Section 448.110, Florida Statutes.
What Employees Need To Do
Check your paycheck to ensure the increase of the new Florida minimum wage for 2021 is reflected in the payment you receive from your employer. If you do not see the increase in your paycheck, notify your employer of the state-mandated increase in Florida’s minimum wage. The State Constitution protects your employee rights against retaliation.
If you have not received the new Florida minimum wage increase for 2021 after you have notified them and given them 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages, you have the right to bring a civil action against your employer to recover those back wages – plus damages and attorneys fees.
The State of Florida takes Florida minimum wage laws very seriously and not only allows you to recover any back wages, damages, and attorneys’ fees, it also has the power to assess fines to employers that violate the new Florida minimum wage 2021.
Other Important News on Minimum Wage in Florida
In the November 2020 general election, voters in the State of Florida voted for the approval of passing Amendment 2 that details a gradual increase of the Florida minimum wage up to $15 per hour by September 2026, and will be incremental each year, beginning in the fall of 2021.
Here is what you can expect regarding the rise of the minimum wage in Florida in the coming years:
- $10.00 on September 30, 2021
- $11.00 on September 30, 2022
- $12.00 on September 30, 2023
- $13.00 on September 30, 2024
- $14.00 on September 30, 2025; and
- $15.00 on September 30, 2026.
With these changes in wages coming to the state, it is critical to always keep a close eye on your paycheck to ensure you are receiving what you are lawfully owed for hours worked.
Employee Rights Include More Than Fair Wages
Checking your paycheck is one of the most important things you can do as an employee, particularly vital when laws have changed, such as the one that raised the Florida minimum wage in 2021.
But employees do have multiple rights outside of receiving fair wages. From rights against discrimination in the workplace to rights protecting you against sexual harassment, Florida employees are covered by multiple state and federal laws to ensure a fair and safe workplace.
Please Note: At the time this article was written, the information contained within it was current based on the prevailing law at the time. Laws and precedents are subject to change, so this information may not be up to date. Always speak with a law firm regarding any legal situation to get the most current information available.